Piper on Prayer and the Word

Here is a helpful post from the blog at  www.desiringgod.org that gives a practical way to pray before we approach God’s Word:

In chapter nine of When I Don’t Desire God, John Piper introduces a memorable and helpful acronym for what to pray before reading Scripture:

I. O. U. S.

Incline my heart to you, not to prideful gain or any false motive. (Psalm 119:36)

Open my eyes to behold wonderful things in your Word. (Psalm 119:18)

Unite my heart to fear your name. (Psalm 86:11)

Satisfy me with you steadfast love. (Psalm 90:14)

Leave a Comment

